Shh…Nobody’s Watching – Photography Project

One image.
Shoot it exactly as you see it.
No direction, no props.
Photographed that fortnight.

Our collective of women photographers who document the “seemingly unseen realities of being human” has reached it’s 27th week.

Our goal is 52 weeks.

You can see this fortnights post here – WEEK 27

Here’s a few from the past few weeks along with a couple that ended up on the cutting room floor.

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Shh Nobody's watching collaboration I Tracy Lee Photography

Who Is Tracy Lee?

Tracy Lee is a photographer from Canberra, she shoots beautiful families, kids and even the odd wonderful wedding. She will drive an extra mile for a good chai, can play 4 chords or her guitar and is somewhat obsessed with the colour green. She is also one of the bravest people us Shher’s know but we will save that story for another day.

Why do you make photos?

As a kid one of my favourite things was to pour over my parents photo albums and see the stories captured in them. Dad always had us out adventuring and had his camera on hand to record every detail. As a grown up I like to document  the life of friends and family and record the things we easily forget. The best buzz in life is to see someone smile when they look at a photo I’ve created.

What did you do before you took photos?

Sang songs about underwear and smelly armpits. I was a teacher of children. Though- I have always had a camera on me. even as a kid.

What would you do if you didn’t take photos?

Write children’s books and develop teaching resources to support creative learning experiences in early childhood classroom. Become queen of the world and bring about world peace.. of course.

Do you shoot personal work?

Yes. Though building my own business took over for a while and I got lost. I have started to wander back into shooting for myself more. I love the freedom and creative licence it gives you and I love shooting my dancing girls- the colour, the movement, the thrill that dance gives people and capturing the amazing supportive community we have here in Canberra.

What image or images are you most proud of ?

Photos of my dear family and friends I adore the most. They are the ones I will still look at in 30 years to come and will mean the most to me.I do feel pretty chuffed about some of the images that I have taken, not because of their technical features.. but rather the fact that I managed to capture something that I would have missed had I not had the courage just to shoot it. Those images that never nearly were.

What are you using to shoot this project?

My Canon 5DMII But am planning on using a smaller, less conspicuous camera down the track.

How is this project challenging you?

Shh is helping me be brave and step outside the comfort zone. It takes me to that terrifying  moment where I see something I just know I must capture and that split second where you can  talk yourself out of it. The best days are where you breathe in, press the shutter then have that thrilling sensation you did it (and hope no one chases you down the road for taking a photo of them).

Do you find yourself sneaking around in camouflage each week?

Haha! Not so much- but I do find myself doing crazy u turns in the car or walking past the same scene a few times (stalker style).

PORTRAITS

WEDDINGS

PERSONAL WORK

Leave a Reply

